These instructions will show you how to share your Primary Google calendar with others. You can choose to only share your Primary calendar with users within Lehigh University or with all users including those outside of Lehigh University. Your primary calendar will always be the first calendar listed among your calendars and is the default calendar displayed when you first sign in to Google Calendar.
You can give access rights to your calendar as a whole, or to individual meetings. Event rights override calendar rights, for example:
-An individual meeting can be made private, even if the calendar as a whole is shared. Private meetings can only be viewed by the calendar's owner and individuals to whom the owner has granted Make changes AND manage sharing privileges.
-You can make an individual meeting public even if it's on a calendar that's not shared.
Go to your Primary Google Calendar (http://www.google.com/calendar/a/lehigh.edu). In your calendar list on the left side of the page, click the down-arrow button next your Primary calendar, then select Share this calendar.
Choose from the following sharing options for your calendar:
- Share this calendar with others - If you uncheck this setting, none of your calendar information, not even free/busy information, will be available to anyone (including people within Lehigh University) except people you specifically shared your calendar with.
- Make this calendar public - If you choose this setting, your calendar will be viewable to everyone, including people outside of Lehigh University. Selecting See only free/busy (hide details) under this setting means that people outside Lehigh University can see free/busy information on your calendar. They can also invite you to events.
- Share this calendar with everyone in the organization - Your calendar will be shared only with the people within Lehigh University. People outside Lehigh University won't be able to see your calendar, except:
- If you invite someone outside Lehigh University to a meeting, he or she can see information about the meeting, but nothing else about your calendar.
- If you share your calendar with someone outside Lehigh University, he or she can see free/busy information on your calendar.
Choose the access options for viewing the calendar:
- See all event details means that users within Lehigh University can view your calendar and invite you to events, but they won't be able to access the details of events marked as private.
- See only free/busy (hide details) means that users within Lehigh University can see when your time is booked or free, but they cannot see names or details in your events.