User menu

Menu

Main menu

Lehigh Gmail Guide

Turn off conversations in Lehigh Gmail

Conversations is an email view that is unique to Gmail. By default, Gmail groups all replies with their original message, creating a single conversation or thread. While many people like the conversations view, it is different from how Thunderbird and Lehigh webmail work, where responses appear as separate messages in your inbox. When you first migrate to Lehigh Gmail, we recommend you turn off conversations. If you would like to try the conversations view, read below to make sure that you understand some of the “gotchas” that can occur with conversations view.

The conversations view “Gotchas”
In conversations view, be careful:

  • When you delete messages. Follow these instructions for deleting a message individually vs. deleting an entire conversation.
  • When you forward messages. Follow these instructions to forward a message individually vs. an entire conversation.

To turn off conversations view, go to the gear icon gear.jpg and select Settings. Under the General tab (which displays by default), toggle conversation view off.
conversation-view.png

For additional help, please contact the LTS Help Desk at 610-758-4357 or helpdesk@lehigh.edu